The Final Countdown!

18 Mar 2013

I’ve spent all day doing laundry and packing. My suitcases both weigh in under the 50lbs limit and I couldn’t be more chuffed with myself. Thanks for the packing lessons, Dad!

I’m so happy to be leaving! I cannot wait to get to Slovakia, although the thought of contacting people and speaking Slovak 24/7 continues to frighten me a bit. The MTC has been a blast, but I’m hungry for a chance to actually use what I’ve learned and get to work. Still, Provo is putting on an excellent show for our final week: the sun is shining (I’m currently sporting a scorched shade of fuchsia), the flowers are blooming (daffodils aren’t as pretty here as in Wales, though!), and nearly all the snow has melted off the mountainsides. It’s beautiful. =)

P Day in Slovakia is actually on Monday, not Saturday (that’s applies to Prague only), so it’ll be a fortnight before I can email again. Please keep us all in your prayers: I’ve got a stack of pass-along cards and two copies of the Book of Mormon I’m hoping to place on our journey. 😉

Saturday we “international missionaries” (those from outside North America) were set loose on Salt Lake City. Woohoo! A much-needed field trip and a huge blessing for those gaining a first glimpse of the rich heritage we share and the pros and cons of an LDS-dense society. I hadn’t realised how much I’ve missed it. The General Conference Center was decked out in banners for the General Young Women Meeting on the 30th. It’s going to be so good! =) Almost a shame we won’t be spending Conference here (missionaries get to attend a session), but I’m so happy we’ll be in Slovakia for Easter!

Maybe I shouldn’t though, as our teachers have told us the Slovaks have a “fun” tradition of the young men chasing the young women down the street and whipping them with lengths of string while singing a silly ditty. In exchange for this display of chivalry, we are meant to give them money and sweets. Fat chance – I’ll sooner give them a Kniha Mormonova! =)

Love you all so much! Next message will be from Prague! 🙂

Sestra Jones

2 thoughts on “The Final Countdown!

  1. Lovely to hear your news. We continue to pray for you. Can’t wait to hear what it’s like in the field and see photos of the countryside 🙂

Leave a Reply

