Renewed Strength

“But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

07 October 2013

Crammed into a little lift!

Crammed into a little lift!

I feel we’ve had an AMAZING week! We’ve seen so much of Heavenly Father’s kindness and tender mercies in our daily lives, and while I feel I have so much to improve on, it’s empowering to know I have the tools to overcome my obstacles. Or rather, I have access to the Saviour, and He has the tools.

Our new District Leader, Elder Guy is such a powerhouse and sets a stalwart example of speaking Slovak around the clock. I feel that my vision has been raised: for my personal development, as well as the branch’s growth. As a District, we have set a goal that by the end of the transfer we will have 10 people attending Church regularly on Sundays (excluding missionaries – there are 6 of us as it is!). We feel we need to visit all of our Church members if at all possible every week, and see what we can do to help and encourage people in enjoying greater activity in the Church. Sestra Johnson and I have also set a companionship goal to read the entire Kniha Mormonova (Book of Mormon in Slovak) by Christmas – we’ll see how it goes!

We’ll get a chance to watch General Conference this weekend, with a choice of English or Slovak languages. Can’t wait!  🙂

Our teaching pool is smaller by half than it was last transfer, contacting is still a real struggle, and we’re worried that the word about the concert we’re organising is not getting out fast enough. Despite these setbacks, we are so blessed to be teaching wonderful people who are searching for, and seeking to apply truth! I felt the Lord reaching out to me this week and expressing His approval as both PK’ova and V told us that they know we have been placed in their lives for a reason – basically, they recognise that we’ve been sent to them by God. It’s such a privilege to see the Spirit come into the lives of these lovely people, and to watch their conversion grow.

V is not yet working towards a specific baptismal date, as she’s headed to Taiwan at the end of the month, but she loves us coming to teach her and always has lots of excellent questions. PK’ova knows she wants to be baptised – she feels the Spirit with us in the church building unlike anywhere else, she said. She feels the Kniha Mormonova is true and wants to finish reading it before baptism.

Branch members, investigators, and visitors from the USA "Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellowcitizens with the saints, and of the household of God"  Ephesians 2:19

Branch members, missionaries, investigators, and visitors from the USA
“Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellowcitizens with the saints, and of the household of God”
Ephesians 2:19

P loves church and is great friends with President van D. He’s excited for his baptism and when we ask if he has any questions in lessons he smiles and says “No, everything is absolutely clear.” It would be fabulous if his mother and brother would accept the invitation to come to church as well; I think they just haven’t gotten around to it yet, as from all indications, P’s mum seems to be very supportive of his decision to be baptised.

A singing group performing in traditional Slovak costume

A singing group performing in traditional Slovak costume

My 16-year-old sister asked me what lesson I would take home from my mission, if this were my last transfer. My answer is this: my mission is teaching me how much I don’t know! I’m learning how nothing is more important than the gospel.

One thing I do know is that this is the Lord’s work, and that He has a plan for His children in this city. I know that when our vision is aligned with the Lord’s, we have the privilege of participating in miracles. I am thankful for the grace of the Saviour’s Atonement!

S laskou, Sestra Jones

Leave a Reply

