This is the Day

24 March 2014

 “This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

Sunspots and Goldfish. the Bratislava District: Sestra Jones, Sestra Seni, Starší Fe'l, Starší Lam, Starší Ras, Starší A, Starší Jar, Starší Roos

Sunspots and Goldfish.
the Bratislava District:
Sestra Jones, Sestra Seni, Starší Fe’l, Starší Lam, Starší Ras, Starší A, Starší Jar, Starší Roos

We taught surprisingly few lessons this week; our wonderful investigators and lovely less-active members continue to both inspire us and bewilder us in turns. Sometimes forging ahead boldly to ascend to new and thrilling heights in their faith, at other times disappearing into the misty valleys.

The big highlight of the week was our missionary Conference and fabulous training with Prezident McConkie on Thursday. It proved such a great reminder of why we do what we do: enriching people´s relationship with God. Personal revelation is an indispensable privilege that unlocks the conversion process.

The departing testimonies jolted me a bit though, particularly dear Sestra Bar´s (this is her last transfer… she will complete her mission in about two weeks). It shocked me to realise that in just under five months´ time I will similarly have to take off my badge and return to mundane normality. Sometimes I worry that I´m not working hard enough, that I´m not making the impact on people that the Lord wants me to. On the bright side though, that´s motivating me to be a better missionary now while I still have time. Since then I´ve been pondering what I still wish to accomplish in the two transfers left to me. I love my mission. I know that this is exactly where the Lord wants me to be. I miss being a new missionary with seemingly endless transfers ahead of me and unbridled enthusiasm to accomplish the work. Yet I´m grateful for the experience I´ve gained as a seasoned missionary, and see better now how to go about the work efficiently. Isn´t it funny that the Lord removes us from service just when we´re in danger of getting too comfortable and thinking we have it all figured out?

We had not only all of the missionary force from Slovakia gathered together for this Conference, but also a good many missionaries the Czech Republic (Brno Zone) all squeezed into the church building! Afterwards, our English student who took us on our tour last week, E, graciously repeated the exercise for the entire group of missionaries to share with all a sense of the culture, history, and pride of the Slovak people. Bratislava was bursting at the seams with missionaries! What a glorious sight.

Working hard, working together: on exchanges with the Sister Training Leaders.

Working hard, working together:
on exchanges with the Sister Training Leaders.

I had a great exchange this week with Sestra Bat, one of our Sister Training Leaders. She is a beautiful example of charity, and helped me a lot with my thoughts about ending my mission, as expressed above. Sestra Seni is such an inspiration to me: she returned from her exchange in Uherské Hradiště (Czech Republic) on Friday afternoon exclaiming that we may be far behind our desired goal of 21 lessons this week, but that she refuses to settle for less than the expected minimum of 14 lessons! Wow, that´s unstoppable faith. I look to Doctrine and Covenants for encouragement: “That the fulness of my gospel might be proclaimed by the weak and the simple unto the ends of the world “(D&C 1:23). I may be weak and simple, but the Lord didn´t ask for anyone else, and I know that He will qualify us for the work. If I must eventually leave, then at least I intend to go out in a blaze of glory!

We´re optimistic for this coming week and so excited for our Easter concert in two weeks´time!

Have a great week!
S láskou, Sestra Jones

 

Leave a Reply

