Like Nephi

26 May 2014

I am SO, so happy to be a Czech/Slovak missionary! Our training on Saturday was just fantastic (although the departing testimonies scared me half to death – I’m next!!). Prezident shared with us the results we have been attaining mission-wide as compared with this time last year. The number of New Investigators and baptisms have doubled, and made all-time mission records. The Lord is hastening His work here. 🙂

WixomWe are all being immensely blessed here in Bratislava. We had a really rough week last week with regard to teaching, and I mean abysmal, just awful. But this week has showed us just how quickly and completely we can turn things around when we rely on the Spirit’s guidance and the Lord’s timing. Every single day this week we’ve specifically planned for a new person we would find, along with when, where, and what we would teach them. It has been miraculously accurate, and so many of our daily goals came true without us even knowing how. As just one example, Brat M called us one day out of the blue, said he was in town, and requested a lesson. It was a brilliant bench lesson galore, and resulted in 2 new investigators. Sestra W and I teach remarkably well together during these spontaneous lessons, when we are forced to rely on each other and the Spirit for every word, verse, and commitment we present; they seem to go way better than the ones we actually plan out, practice, pray over and study for!

EyringThe theme of the training meeting was testimony. I have had so many witnesses from the Holy Ghost that what I’m doing here is far greater than just me and my companion, the names on the member list, and strangers’ faces I meet in the street. It is an all-encompassing and urgently pressing work that is only restricted by my own faith and obedience. I want to be like Nephi in 1 Nephi 17:50-51!

“And I said unto them: If God had commanded me to do all things I could do them. If he should command me that I should say unto this water, be thou earth, it should be earth; and if I should say it, it would be done.

 And now, if the Lord has such great power, and has wrought so many miracles among the children of men, how is it that he cannot instruct me…?”

I know that miracles await for Bratislava, and I intend to bring them a bit closer than before.

Love you so much!

Sestra Jones

Leave a Reply

